top of page

Books I Wish I Had Read In My Late Teens/Early 20's


If you're like most people I know, you've thought at least once in your life, "If I only knew then what I know now..."

I am grateful for all the ups and downs I've experienced; I know that there were lessons I needed to learn and that I would not be where I am today without them. Still, I have pondered this question. And if I could go back to talk to my younger self, I would put in her/my hands books that prompted decisions that led to major changes in her/my life.

Here they are in no particular order:

FOR ROMANTIC RELATIONSHIPS: Fall in Love, Stay in Love by Willard F. Harley Jr.

I've been married and divorced twice. I wasn't ready to get married either of those times. I realize that now. This book forced me to take a look at myself and what kind of partner I was, and gave me the tools to become the partner that I want, and want to be. Successful relationships take a daily commitment to be the best of yourself, to choose your partner even when you don't feel it, to fight fair, to ask for what you want. My biggest takeaway from this book was the "Love Bank" and sustaining that feeling of "being in love."

FOR MONEY: Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert Kiyoski

The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey

If you've read both of these books, this might seem contradictory. I have taken concepts that work for me from each book. My life would look very different if I had been exposed to these twenty years ago. But it's never too late to start! Passive, residual income was a totally new and foriegn concept to me but I was sold on it immediately. Since then, job loss was not a big deal. And being debt free was part of the culture I grew up in. I remember being fresh out of college and a co-worker who graduated the same time drove a brand new car into the parking lot one day. I knew that her wage was similar to mine and there was no way she could have afforded that car outright. That's when I learned of car payments. After falling into that trap, I swore I would never go back and I haven't. FOR LIFE AND MONEY: Lifeonaire by Steve Cook

Why life and money? The author, Steve Cook, points out that most of American society lives life according to the Game of Life board game. He who accumulates the most money wins. Society is conditioned to accept the 40-hour (sometimes more) work week in pursuit of money so we can provide for our family. Too often, our family gets the short end of the stick. We allocate time with our spouse and children after work obligations are fulfilled. Have you been guilty (I know I have) of saying, "We'll do that when we have more time/money" ? We get impatient with young children who keep asking, "When can we x, y or z" ? when we have to work.. why can't they understand we are doing this for them? Or we can't afford to do those things? For me, this book puts it all into perspective and gives me the kick to remind myself what's really important. Take your weekly calendar (since we all seem to be beholden to our calenders) and schedule the things that are important to you first, like your spouse, children, charitable work, etc. And THEN, schedule your work in the time that's left over. It may mean finding a different job, it may mean working with your boss (share the book with him/her) to create a work schedule that's good for your life. It can and has been done.

I have read countless books but these four are the "must read" for my younger self and, I believe, anyone in their late teens and early twenties. Start the habits now. Live how you were meant to... live free. Please share: what's on your "must read" list?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page